Wednesday 24 July 2024


  • 16 February 2017
  • 10:45
  • 2 Comment
  • 1648 View
  • Article Rating
Berlin hosts 28th Int’l Symp on Cerebral Blood Flow, Metabolism and Function & 13th Int’l Conference on Quantification of Brain Function with PET



The German capital will be the gathering place of renowned scientists, internationally acclaimed and leading scholars as well as ISCBFM members to discuss the latest advances and novel discoveries for better understanding of brain function under physiological and pathological conditions through basic, translational, and clinical investigation.


The International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism (ISCBFM) is organized to operate exclusively for the purpose of promoting the advancement of education in the science of cerebral blood flow and metabolism throughout the world. The 28th edition of ISCBFM biannual conference will be held in Berlin on 1-4 April 2017 featuring numerous aspects within the area of neuroscience research, particularly those related to brain function and metabolism, cerebral blood flow, the function of the neurovascular unit and the blood-brain barrier, brain imaging, brain repair, and cerebrovascular pathology.


Berlin’s richly textured history mesmerizes anyone keen to explore its vibrant culture, cutting-edge architecture and tangible history. Separated by a wall for decades and reunified in 1989, Berlin is like a 3D history textbook which reflects vividly the past. Berlin is the hotspot for medical history as well.
In 2010, the Charité, Berlin’s university hospital and medical school celebrated its 300 birthday. Names like Hermann von Helmholtz, Rudolf Virchow, or Cécile and Oscar Vogt have been pioneers of modern neuroscience.


The Conference Scientific Committee members are leading scientists from all over the world:


D. S. Fahmeed Hyder: Yale University, New Haven, CT, Department of Diagnostic Radiology USA

David Boas: Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging USA

Prof. Ulrich Dirnagl (Local chairman): Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Department of Neurology and Experimental Neurology and Center for Stroke Research Berlin Germany

Prof. Matthias Endres (Local chairman): Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Department of Neurology and Experimental Neurology Germany

Peter Herscovitch: NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, MD, Positron Emission Tomography Department USA

Mark Slifstein: Columbia University, New York, NY, Psychiatric Institute USA

Bojana Stefanovic: University of Toronto, Toronto, ON Department of Medical Biophysics, Sunnybrook Research Institute, Canada

Ai-Ling Lin: University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, Sanders-Brown Center on Aging, Department of Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences, USA

Raymond A. Swanson: University of California, San Francisco, CA, Department of Neurology USA

Asta K. Haberg: Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim Department of Neuroscience Norway

Albert Gjedde: University of Copenhagen, Department of Neuroscience and Pharmacology Denmark

Veronica Galvan: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, TX Department of Physiology and The Barshop Institute, USA

Anant B. Patel: Center for Cellular & Molecular Biology, Hyderabad, Telangana, India


Martha E. O’Donnell: University of California, Davis, CA Department of Physiology and Membrane Biology, School of Medicine, USA

Hiroyuki Kinouchi, University of Yamanashi, Yamanashi, Chuo Department of Neurosurgery, Interdisciplinary Graduate School of Medicine and Engineering, Japan

Guohua Wang: Nantong University, Nantong, Jiangsu, Department of Neurophysiology and Neuropharmacology, Institute of Nautical Medicine and Co-innovation Center of Neuroregeneration China


Regular registration ends on 23rd February 2017. For registration please click here.


Dr. Shima Naghavi, Director of International Affairs

Rate News :